Skip links


OUR Governors

The Governors at Himbleton feel very privileged to be able to work alongside a dedicated group of Staff, contributing to such a special place for our children to learn.

The Leadership and Staff team maintain operational and day to day running of the school. The Governing Board plays a strategic role.

It has three key functions:

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

Governors at Himbleton meet as a Full Governing Body at least termly and also a further three times per year in their respective Committees. Himbleton has three Committees; Finance, Standards and Pupil Support. Each committee covers specific agenda items relating to their area within the School.

The Governors set a long term Strategic Plan for the School. Each member of the Governing Body also monitors School’s progress in meeting the priorities as set out in the School Development Plan, which is written by the Headteacher.

The Governing Body are volunteers made up of members appointed by the Local Authority and the Diocese as well as parents, staff and the local community. Individual Governor’s skills and expertise are varied and wide-ranging. Being a Governor of a small village, church school is very different to being the Governor of a larger establishment. It calls for a great personal commitment and familiarity of the local community.

On a lighter note, Governors are invited to and encouraged to take part in the school fetes, sports day, sponsored activities. Attendance at the numerous services which the children hold at St Mary Magdalene Church, Himbleton is always pleasurable and very spiritual.

Mike Gee

Foundation Governor

Chair of Finance & Resources Committee
Standards Committee

Claire Johnston

Co-Opted Governor

Chair of Governors
Pupil Support Committee

Eric Jenkinson

Co-Opted Governor

Chair Standards Committee

Gemma Beattie

Staff Governor

Pupil Support Committee

Amy Rowley

Parent Governor

Pupil Support Committee

Sue Plummer

Local Authority Governor

Chair Pupil Support Committee

Charlotte Patterson

Clerk to Governors

Mark Roberts

Foundation Governor

Vice Chair of Governors

Finance & Resource Committee
Standards Committee

Helen Swift

Parent Governor

Standards Committee

Gemma Martin

Ex Officio Governor

Finance, Standards and Pupil Support Committees


If you require any further information, please contact Mrs Stewart, our School Administrator, in the first instance on 01905 391231 or [email protected].